FAQ  •  Login

Custom Speedometers (MPH, etc.)

<<

MWisBest

Cars: 2000 Dodge Intrepid ES (3.2L V6)

Post Wed Jul 29, 2015 4:12 pm

Custom Speedometers (MPH, etc.)

I got annoyed with the KPH-only speedometer when running around test tracks, so I spent a few minutes whipping up a MPH version, and have since added some other ones (e.x. MPH outer with KPH inner).
The MPH converting isn't perfect, but it's close enough. The stock KPH gauge is labeled in increments of 40 KPH, which is 24.8548 MPH, so I replaced the increments of 40 KPH with increments of 25 MPH. By the time the gauge reaches 300 MPH, it ends up reading 2 MPH slow (so 300 MPH actually means 298 MPH). Unless you're pushing your car to its labeled top speed (for example on a long, straight track) and look very closely at it you won't notice it. :P

Here's a few previews of them, there's more versions (with previews as well) in the .zip file too. Please note that I am not a good artist, but I did my best. :oops:
ImageImageImage

Installation instructions are in the README.txt file in the .zip :)
Attachments
Custom Speedometers.zip
(613.6 KiB) Downloaded 322 times
Last edited by MWisBest on Sat Sep 19, 2015 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
<<

nialloftara

Supercharged
Supercharged

Cars: 2006 Scion Xb

Post Thu Jul 30, 2015 1:42 am

Re: MPH Speedometer

That's actually quite clever, is there a chance you could scale down the existing kph and fit it inside this image to make a more traditional speedo look?
Chief designer and CEO, Centauri motor works, Centauri Performance Vehicles (CPV)
"Centauri: The Stars Are Within Your Reach."
Centauri engines Centauri cars
CPV engines CPV cars
Company ID: 1943047
<<

07CobaltGirl

Queen of Track Building

Cars: Chevy Cobalt

Post Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:52 am

You mean like a speedometer with both kmh and mph? I would like that as well!
<<

nialloftara

Supercharged
Supercharged

Post Thu Jul 30, 2015 4:01 am