FAQ  •  Login

openbeta, broken standard game and mods

<<

TR8R

User avatar

Posts: 36

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:57 pm

Cars: Jetman's Lunar Buggy. Yes, I AM that old!

Post Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:50 am

openbeta, broken standard game and mods

Cutting a long story short......

Registered for Openbeta in Steam.....Ooooh.....very pretty. :D
Can't use openbeta for comps.....Boooo!!!!! :x
Removed openbeta and game won't start. :cry:

fail.JPG
fail.JPG (23.48 KiB) Viewed 2203 times


Uninstalled and reinstalled. :roll:

Same error. :cry:

Decided to run with openbeta and forget about comps.....Booooooo!!!! :x :x :x

All mods have disappeared. :shock:
How can I get them back without going through them all and unsubscribing and resubscribing?

Thanks in anticipation!
CEO for First Order Automotive

Est - 1968
<<

Sillyworld

User avatar

Posts: 400

Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2015 8:48 am

Location: Guadalajara, México

Cars: Mazda 3 hatchback

Post Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:15 am

Re: openbeta, broken standard game and mods

You know, there is an open beta thread bug.

I think koolei had something similar and he fixed it by restarting his computer.
You may also want to verify integrity of game cache and check in your automation folder (mydocuments/my games/automation) the game log.
You also might one to try to change the name (or erase) the automation folder and re-start the game with the stable release.
One last tip, when you launch in the open beta, in the options menu (where you choose the language, the resolution and stuff) you can set a different game path for the beta to play, like C:/Automation or something like that, that way you will have 2 separate folders to avoid future issues when changing from beta to stable release.
<<

thecarlover

User avatar

Posts: 653

Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:50 am

Location: Ottawa, Canada

Cars: Not the 2011 Porsche 911 Turbo Cabriolet in the photo.

Post Sat Mar 12, 2016 11:32 am

Re: openbeta, broken standard game and mods

I just got the same error, and renaming the Automation folder so a new one gets created solved the issue.
Car showcase thread: viewtopic.php?f=35&t=8227
Mods thread: viewtopic.php?f=38&t=8552

Image
<<

TR8R

User avatar

Posts: 36

Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2016 11:57 pm

Cars: Jetman's Lunar Buggy. Yes, I AM that old!

Post Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:55 am

Re: openbeta, broken standard game and mods

Done that now and all is OK with the world again. :D

Thanks. 8-)
CEO for First Order Automotive

Est - 1968
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Wed Mar 23, 2016 10:06 am

Re: openbeta, broken standard game and mods

(Copy from same issue reported on Steam forums)

:P So you are one of those who think the game should be "forwards compatible"? ;) Seems like you built a car in the open beta and then switched back to the standard branch. Obviously that causes issues as the old game has no clue what to do with those files the newer version of Automation has created (we reworked completely the save structure).

To counteract that the game makes backup copies of your Documents\My Games\Automation folder which you find in Documents\My Games
You can use that zip (has version number on it) to restore your old Automation folder from before you switching to open beta. Just delete your current one, then unpack the backup zip.

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron