FAQ  •  Login

Game no longer works

<<

Diax1324

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 73

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:28 am

Cars: Volkswagen Baja Beetle, several Type 2 buses (including a dropgate truck) Ford Fusion

Post Wed Feb 24, 2016 6:45 pm

Game no longer works

I have removed all mods, and reinstalled twice. The game no longer will launch with Steam at all. I click play game, with the option menu or without it, all that happens is the console appears for about a quarter of a second, and then nothing. No error, no black screen, just nothing.

Help please :c
<<

Vri404

User avatar

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 600

Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 8:00 pm

Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Cars: 2000 Toyota Altezza Auto

Post Wed Feb 24, 2016 6:55 pm

Re: Game no longer works

Verify Game Cashe.
Salt is what 95% of children are made from, and generally 72% of forum users.

Also 82% of statistics are made up.
<<

Diax1324

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 73

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:28 am

Cars: Volkswagen Baja Beetle, several Type 2 buses (including a dropgate truck) Ford Fusion

Post Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:27 pm

Re: Game no longer works

Vri404 wrote:Verify Game Cashe.

Unfortunately already done this, no result.
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Thu Feb 25, 2016 7:06 am

Re: Game no longer works

Is there anything in the gamelog.txt?

Try moving the Documents\My Games\Automation folder to a different location, too.
<<

Diax1324

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 73

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:28 am

Cars: Volkswagen Baja Beetle, several Type 2 buses (including a dropgate truck) Ford Fusion

Post Thu Feb 25, 2016 2:40 pm

Re: Game no longer works

Killrob wrote:Is there anything in the gamelog.txt?

Try moving the Documents\My Games\Automation folder to a different location, too.


That didn't work either unfortunately :c
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Thu Feb 25, 2016 5:44 pm

Re: Game no longer works

what about the contents of the gamelog.txt?
<<

Diax1324

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 73

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:28 am

Cars: Volkswagen Baja Beetle, several Type 2 buses (including a dropgate truck) Ford Fusion

Post Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:55 pm

Re: Game no longer works

Killrob wrote:what about the contents of the gamelog.txt?


Where is that file located? (I'm in Steam, steamapps, common, Automation)
<<

TrackpadUser

User avatar

2-Star Beta Tester
2-Star Beta Tester

Posts: 877

Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:20 pm

Location: Montreal, Canadia

Cars: 2006 Suzuki Swift+

Post Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:02 pm

Re: Game no longer works

For Windows 10 (probably the same folder for Windows 7 and 8)

C:\Users\%WindowsUsername⅜\Documents\my games\Automation
<<

Diax1324

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 73

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:28 am

Cars: Volkswagen Baja Beetle, several Type 2 buses (including a dropgate truck) Ford Fusion

Post Tue Mar 01, 2016 6:24 pm

Re: Game no longer works

TrackpadUser wrote:For Windows 10 (probably the same folder for Windows 7 and 8)

C:\Users\%WindowsUsername⅜\Documents\my games\Automation


That doesn't exist in my documents or where I moved the non-steam automation folder.
So I guess the game is just broken for me now... Good run guys.
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:22 am

Re: Game no longer works

Are you running with admin rights during the install? It will try to create the folder in Documents\My Games\Automation by default, if it doesn't have access to that it won't run.
The open beta branch of the Steam version has an updated launcher that allows you to change save path, which then gets around that issue.

Also check out: http://steamcommunity.com/app/293760/di ... 349840423/
<<

Diax1324

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 73

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:28 am

Cars: Volkswagen Baja Beetle, several Type 2 buses (including a dropgate truck) Ford Fusion

Post Sun Mar 06, 2016 4:38 pm

Re: Game no longer works

Killrob wrote:Are you running with admin rights during the install? It will try to create the folder in Documents\My Games\Automation by default, if it doesn't have access to that it won't run.
The open beta branch of the Steam version has an updated launcher that allows you to change save path, which then gets around that issue.

Also check out: http://steamcommunity.com/app/293760/di ... 349840423/



I tried the community topic idea and that didn't work. I'm not sure how to run with admin rights on steam though, so I don't know what you mean by that
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:49 pm

Re: Game no longer works

Can you change the save path? That might be the issue... you not running with admin rights would explain why there is no folders in Documents\My Games\Automation

Opt into the open beta on steam and launch the game via the launcher, go into the launcher options and change the save path to something you have full admin rights to. Something like E:\Games\Automation
<<

Diax1324

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 73

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:28 am

Cars: Volkswagen Baja Beetle, several Type 2 buses (including a dropgate truck) Ford Fusion

Post Mon Mar 07, 2016 8:12 am

Re: Game no longer works

Killrob wrote:Can you change the save path? That might be the issue... you not running with admin rights would explain why there is no folders in Documents\My Games\Automation

Opt into the open beta on steam and launch the game via the launcher, go into the launcher options and change the save path to something you have full admin rights to. Something like E:\Games\Automation


I can't even open the save path thing for some reason.
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:12 am

Re: Game no longer works

So you do get the option to change the save path (i.e. you have a button for it) and it won't let you do that? What error message do you get?
<<

Diax1324

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 73

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:28 am

Cars: Volkswagen Baja Beetle, several Type 2 buses (including a dropgate truck) Ford Fusion

Post Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:58 am

Re: Game no longer works

Killrob wrote:So you do get the option to change the save path (i.e. you have a button for it) and it won't let you do that? What error message do you get?



I get no error message, I click on "Open" for the save path and literally nothing happens. Nothing pops up at all.
Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

cron