FAQ  •  Login

Workaround: Saving Problems

<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Thu Aug 06, 2015 12:42 pm

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

That's interesting! It's a problem we recently found in the closed beta version and fixed. There are some major bugs in the platform designer, specifically connected to engine orientation changes. Anyway, that's probably good advice to not change the model around after the first trim is made.
<<

Stepside

User avatar

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 20

Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 6:04 pm

Location: Hellinois

Cars: 1978 Chevrolet Stepside "Custom Deluxe", 2002 Ford Mustang

Post Mon Aug 17, 2015 12:11 pm

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

I've found that giving your cars the same name but different years bugs the save on both of them. I've taken to naming them with the year before the model name and it seems to have fixed it.
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:10 pm

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

Yes, the same name will bug the saves because in the current public version of the game the save files don't get any unique identifier on top of what you call them, while the year is not part of the save name and cannot be part of the save name for save-logistics reasons :P
<<

HellBoyBG

User avatar

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 84

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:52 am

Post Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:17 am

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

Built 1 model, 3 trims (2 trims in the same year, 1 in a different) Saved on every tab (Chassis, engine, trim) everything was fine. Closed the game. Opened it after some time and this happens.... I'm really pissed of cuz this is happening for idk how many times now. It deleted not only my company cars but it screwed challenge cars as well.... I even reinstalled the game.
Untitled.jpg
Untitled.jpg (156.64 KiB) Viewed 7762 times
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:17 am

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

Reinstalling the game won't help. Did you do as was described above? Build the complete car first, then save it? Did you clone an existing trim, switch to the clone, change the year, build it to completion, then name it and save it?
<<

HellBoyBG

User avatar

Naturally Aspirated

Posts: 84

Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 5:52 am

Post Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:04 pm

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

Killrob wrote:Reinstalling the game won't help. Did you do as was described above? Build the complete car first, then save it? Did you clone an existing trim, switch to the clone, change the year, build it to completion, then name it and save it?


I did the following things in this order (after the reinstalled game)

1. Create a new model
2. Chose a model, materials, put fixtures on it.
3. Proceeded to trim page, chose FWD, didn't touch anything on the fixture tab.
4. Left arrow to move to the engine. Built a completely new engine and 1 variant, tuned them, tested and saved.
5. Proceeded to the trim page, chose the things, tested, tinkered and tuned, tested, saved.
6. Exited using the "x" icon
7. Went into the engine designer, made 2 more variants. For a total of 3 trims (2 trims in '90 and 1 in '92). Saved and closed the engine designer
8. Opened the car model, cloned the first trim, renamed it, put a bigger engine and tuned the trim, tested and saved. (both the car and engine for the first 2 trims are in the same year)
9. Cloned the second trim, changed the year, renamed, changed some fixtures, put a different engine which is the same year as the third trim. Changed the trim setings, tested, tuned, saved. Everything was fine.
10. Quit the game, gave me "Automation_steam" stopped working/not responding or something like that.
11. Opened the game later and the car was useless... the engine is fine the cars are bugged.

Just a note, before i had this problem as well (the game screwing cars) but first time i get "not responding" error.
<<

sokvas

Posts: 3

Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 11:52 pm

Cars: Fiat Idea

Post Mon Nov 30, 2015 12:18 am

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

My cars, engines and companies are saved, but I can't see them in the sandbox library. They are in the folder but not in the game. Do you have a solution about it? Also can I change the folder that is used for saving?
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Mon Nov 30, 2015 7:39 am

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

sokvas wrote:My cars, engines and companies are saved, but I can't see them in the sandbox library. They are in the folder but not in the game. Do you have a solution about it? Also can I change the folder that is used for saving?

In case you are running the latest open beta build on Steam, could you put your "Cars" and "Engines" folders into one zip file and send them to contact@camshaftsoftware.com giving us an example of which cars don't show up?
<<

sokvas

Posts: 3

Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 11:52 pm

Cars: Fiat Idea

Post Tue Dec 01, 2015 1:28 am

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

Killrob wrote:
sokvas wrote:My cars, engines and companies are saved, but I can't see them in the sandbox library. They are in the folder but not in the game. Do you have a solution about it? Also can I change the folder that is used for saving?

In case you are running the latest open beta build on Steam, could you put your "Cars" and "Engines" folders into one zip file and send them to contact@camshaftsoftware.com giving us an example of which cars don't show up?


I am running the latest open beta build on Steam. I sent you the zip file.
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Tue Dec 01, 2015 8:55 am

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

sokvas wrote:
Killrob wrote:
sokvas wrote:My cars, engines and companies are saved, but I can't see them in the sandbox library. They are in the folder but not in the game. Do you have a solution about it? Also can I change the folder that is used for saving?

In case you are running the latest open beta build on Steam, could you put your "Cars" and "Engines" folders into one zip file and send them to contact@camshaftsoftware.com giving us an example of which cars don't show up?


I am running the latest open beta build on Steam. I sent you the zip file.

Thank you!
<<

Deskyx

User avatar

Posts: 45

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 6:20 pm

Cars: I wish

Post Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:30 am

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

After the new update, I couldn't select any fixtures. I can still edit and see the fixtures on existing cars, but I couldnt add new ones. The fixtures menu would just be blank.

Anyone have an idea on how to solve this?
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Wed Dec 09, 2015 7:53 am

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

Deskyx wrote:After the new update, I couldn't select any fixtures. I can still edit and see the fixtures on existing cars, but I couldnt add new ones. The fixtures menu would just be blank.

Anyone have an idea on how to solve this?

So when you start work on a NEW car in yesterday's update, you can't add any fixtures? If that is the case, please try verifying your game files or reinstall the game. Before that, make sure it's not some kind of user misunderstanding ;)
<<

Deskyx

User avatar

Posts: 45

Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2015 6:20 pm

Cars: I wish

Post Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:29 pm

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

Killrob wrote:
Deskyx wrote:After the new update, I couldn't select any fixtures. I can still edit and see the fixtures on existing cars, but I couldnt add new ones. The fixtures menu would just be blank.

Anyone have an idea on how to solve this?

So when you start work on a NEW car in yesterday's update, you can't add any fixtures? If that is the case, please try verifying your game files or reinstall the game. Before that, make sure it's not some kind of user misunderstanding ;)

Yes.

I have tried verifying it, it didnt work. If I reinstall the game, since my cars use modded fixtures will I lose all of them?
<<

Killrob

User avatar

Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert
Developer - Lead Beta Tester/Producer/German Efficiency Expert

Posts: 3711

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:00 am

Location: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Cars: I owned a Twingo... totally bad-ass!

Post Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:27 am

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

Deskyx wrote:I have tried verifying it, it didnt work. If I reinstall the game, since my cars use modded fixtures will I lose all of them?

Have you tried to run the game in vanilla content mode (toggle on/off in launcher!), that could narrow the issue down to being mod-related.
<<

KielEire

User avatar

Supercharged
Supercharged

Posts: 93

Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:44 pm

Location: Livermore, CA

Cars: 1996 Ford Ranger 4.0L V6

Post Thu Mar 24, 2016 9:34 pm

Re: Workaround: Saving Problems

So I know this is an older forum, but I'm having a save issue.
So I built the body, went through the engine designer hunky-dory, get to the trim, see my wheel-wells are too big, go back to body, shrink them to correct size, save, and close. I come back, open it back up, the data in the testing charts is messed up, and the body is back to its original design with large wheel-wells. I go to body, but then the car fixes itself. Sweet. Go back to trim data, and the car goes back to large wells. Am I saving the car wrong, is it a glitch, or do I not know the meaning of "Save"?
Thanks for the help
PreviousNext

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron